Filter lo0

Murus
Post Reply
ElvinAtombender
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 7:52 pm

Filter lo0

Post by ElvinAtombender » Sun Oct 30, 2016 6:09 pm

Based on the settings it seems that lo0 can either be skipped or passed but no filtering. I'd like to block traffic to the loopback address for tcp 32400.

I think I could filter from the command line with "block drop quick on lo0 proto tcp from any to any port = 32400" but not sure how plus I can't find a method to override the loopback option in the Murus preferences.

Any suggestions?

hany
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 5:20 pm

Re: Filter lo0

Post by hany » Sun Oct 30, 2016 11:29 pm

There is currently no way to override the default Murus rule on loopback interface. You can choose only to skip all filtering or to pass all traffic. We did it on purpose because filtering lo0 on macOS is insane, it will create all sort of problems.
If you want we can craft a special Murus build for you, without the lo0 culprit, so you can see it by yourself :)

ElvinAtombender
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 7:52 pm

Re: Filter lo0

Post by ElvinAtombender » Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:38 pm

I try to avoid insanity wherever possible. I'll take your suggestion and move along. Thanks for the reply.

Post Reply